Yogic Wisdom : The Yoga Sutras | Escape Haven | Bali Yoga Retreat

Yogic Wisdom : The Yoga Sutras

Blog 2 Yoga Sutras

Beyond Yoga Asana

When most people contemplate yoga, it is the physical yoga asanas or poses that come immediately to mind. You may be surprised to know that asana is only one of the eight limbs or paths of yoga. Yoga was never designed to be practiced as a physical exercise only. It was designed to be a lifestyle, and when all aspects of yoga are followed, the ‘goal’ is to reach a place of enlightenment, self-realization and ultimate bliss.

The Yoga Sutras

The birth of yoga dates back between 4000-5000 years and stems from the ‘Vedas’ which are ancient Hindu scriptures that have been passed down from teacher to student in the form of verses and poems. Eventually, a sage and revered scholar in the yogic tradition, known as Patanjali, has been credited with authoring the Yoga Sutra, a foundational text for classical yoga. The Yoga Sutras describe yoga as an 8 Fold Path that progresses from the external to the internal on a journey towards pure consciousness.

The 8 Limbs of Yoga

The practice of the 8 Limbs of Yoga is referred to as the practice of Raja Yoga, or the Royal Path. The eight steps or branches act as guidelines to living a purposeful life with moral and ethical codes to ensure self-discipline, good health and a commitment to the spiritual path. Throughout time, yoga has been practiced in an effort to transcend suffering, to move beyond the chatter of the mind and remember where we come from- a place of pure awareness. The human tendency towards thought, needs, desires and emotions causes this suffering, and the eight limbs of yoga are designed as a template to help us transcend the confines of the ego.

What Are the 8 Limbs of Yoga?

  1.     The Yamas

The Yamas are moral or ethical codes that refer to how we relate to others and how we conduct ourselves in the world. There are five Yamas, they are:

Ahimsa– Non-Violence

Satya– Truthfulness

Asteya– Non-Stealing

Brahmacharya– Chastity/fidelity / to live in higher awareness

Aparigraha– Non-coveting / absence of greed or possessiveness

  1.     The Niyamas

The Niyamas refer to our relationship with our self and inform our self-discipline and world view. There are five Niyamas, they are:

Saucha– Cleanliness / purity

Santosha– Contentment

Tapas– Willpower and Self-discipline

Svadhyaya– Self-Study

Ishvara Pranidhana– Surrender to the divine

  1.     Asana

Asana is the limb most people are familiar with and refers to the physical yoga poses that are practiced for strength, flexibility, detoxification and balance. Traditionally, asana was practiced to ready the body for the following limbs of yoga.

  1.     Pranayama

Pranayama is the breathing techniques used in yoga to expand our energy and move our awareness inwards towards our more subtle self. Prana means ‘life force’, and the practice of pranayama is designed to cultivate and control this life force energy. When we can control the breath, we can also begin to control the mind and create a space of tranquility, peace and focus.

  1.     Pratyahara

Pratyahara refers to sensory withdrawal, shifting attention away from the information that continuously bombards our body through touch, taste, smell, sight and hearing. This trains our mind to avoid and disconnect from external sensory stimuli in order pave the way for meditation and to open the door to our own inner knowing.

  1.     Dharana

Dharana involves taking our concertation to a single point of focus. Having removed external stimuli from the mind, the next process involves alleviating the distractions of the mind itself! Slowing down the thoughts and becoming removed from the chatter of the mind is often done by silent repetition or focus on a sound or mantra, a candle flame, a chakra, a deity- something that affords single thought. Here, the mind is peaceful and we find a place of deep stillness.

  1.     Dhyana

Dhyana involves being aware, without focus or attachment. This is a complete meditative state that precedes complete bliss. The mind has been stilled to little thought and distraction. This deep place of concertation is where we can begin to separate illusion from reality and step towards pure awareness.

  1.     Samadhi

Samadhi is a state of complete bliss or ecstasy. It is a place of utter transcendence, a connection with the divine, a union with the universe, an understanding that all is one. It is not an emotion as such, as the experience of self and ego have dissolved. Rather it is a space of pure consciousness. Here, everything physical dissolves, we own nothing, not even our body, we become spirit- everything and nothing in the same moment. In essence, we are this state of pure bliss and consciousness. This state of being is the ultimate goal of yoga and the practice is not to learn something new, but to remove all the external layers so that we can find our way back to where we began- our most pure form of existence.

Essentially, understanding the 8 limbs of yoga can add depth and meaning to your yoga practice. The lessons we learn from Patanjali and the Yoga Sutras help us to take yoga off the mat and into our everyday lives. Here, we are encouraged and reminded to live authentically and to live a life with compassion unto ourselves and others.

Are you interested in diving deeper into your yoga practice? Join us for a luxury Bali yoga retreat. With unlimited yoga classes onsite and unlimited yoga classes at our two partnering yoga studios, you are able to experience a wide range of classes, as well as meditation and pranayama. Our full-time yoga teachers are there throughout the week to help guide you on your journey and answer any questions you have. All levels of yoga experience are expertly catered to, to ensure you meet your goals during your Bali yoga retreat. Find out more about our luxury yoga package here.

Your Escape Haven Bali Retreat offers a luxury wellness experience for body, mind and soul

We invite you to experience our award winning luxury women’s retreat. If it’s time to fill up your cup and reconnect with yourself on a deeper level, we’d love to help you rejuvenate, unwind, reawaken and experience the very best of Bali. Dive into transformational yoga and meditation classes, exhilarating surf lessons in the warm waters of Bali, fun Bali fitness retreat classes and restorative Bali healing retreat sessions. How much or little you do is all up to you.

Take a look at our wellbeing retreat packages and luxury Bali retreat accommodation options. We’d love to hear from you and help you plan your memorable and transformative retreat in paradise.

Looking for a more affordable and flexible women’s retreat Bali? Check out our other Bali yoga retreat. Here you can enjoy the offerings of any Bali luxury retreat, but with more flexibility and less inclusions. Read more here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *